Skip to content

SuppliesComparison

Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes for Large Cats: Weight Limits and Fit

Which self-cleaning litter boxes fit a large cat: each maker's stated cat weight range and entry size, compared, plus how to introduce a big cat to one.

We earn from qualifying purchases through links on this page. How we make money.

Two cats in a living room, one looking out of a globe-shaped automatic litter box by the window

A self-cleaning litter box suits a large cat only if the maker’s stated weight range and entry size fit your cat. By the makers’ own figures, PetSafe’s ScoopFree OpenSky accepts cats up to 33 pounds, the Litter-Robot 5 up to 30, and the Litter-Robot 4 and ScoopFree SmartSpin up to 25. Several popular models stop at 20 or 22 pounds.

Every figure on this page is a maker claim, taken from the maker’s own product page, FAQ or buying guide on October 1, 2026. We have not used these boxes, and makers change models often, so check the current spec page before you buy. International Cat Care adds two cautions that apply to any automatic box: many “are quite small,” and their movements and noises “can startle cats.”

Stated weight limits, compared

Model (maker) Cat weight stated by the maker Entry size stated
ScoopFree OpenSky (PetSafe) Up to 33 lb Not stated
Litter-Robot 5 and 5 Pro (Whisker) 3 to 30 lb 15.75 in wide
Litter-Robot 4 (Whisker) 3 to 25 lb (product page) 15.75 x 15.75 in
ScoopFree SmartSpin (PetSafe) Up to 25 lb Not stated
PUROBOT MAX 3 (PETKIT) 3.3 to 22 lb 10.51 x 10.74 in
Scooper Pro Ultra (CATLINK) 3 lb 8 oz to 22 lb 13 x 10.6 in
Leo’s Loo Too (Casa Leo) Up to 20 lb Not stated
Litter-Robot EVO (Whisker) 3 to 19 lb 14.85 in wide
ScoopFree Crystal Classic (PetSafe) Up to 15 lb (buying guide) Not stated

Two notes on the table. For the Litter-Robot 4 we use the 3 to 25 pound range on Whisker’s product page; where a maker’s pages differ, we go by the stated limit, to be cautious. PetSafe’s Crystal Classic figure comes from PetSafe’s buying guide, not the product page.

Self-cleaning litter boxes

Shop self-cleaning litter boxes

Opens eBay in a new tab. Check condition, seller feedback and returns.

Weight is only half the fit

A 20-pound Maine Coon is also long. Veterinary guidance from the Feline Veterinary Medical Association and International Cat Care sizes an ordinary litter box at 1.5 times the cat’s length from nose to base of tail. A globe or drum box cannot meet that rule in the same way, so look at two maker figures beside the weight range:

  • Entry size. A big cat has to step in and turn around. Whisker lists a 15.75-inch square entry for the Litter-Robot 4; PETKIT lists about 10.5 by 10.7 inches for the PUROBOT MAX 3.
  • Interior space. Whisker gives an interior globe height of 16.5 inches for the Litter-Robot 4 and 17.5 inches for the Litter-Robot 5.

The fit test

If a model’s entry is smaller than your cat’s shoulders, or the cat crouches to turn inside, it is the wrong box whatever the weight range says. Our litter box sizing guide explains how to measure.

How to introduce a large cat to an automatic box

Makers agree on going slowly:

  1. Place it near the old box. PETKIT suggests putting it next to the old one and letting the cat explore “at their own pace.”
  2. Leave automatic cleaning off. Whisker says you can avoid startling a cat “by leaving Litter-Robot switched off until you notice your cat has used it.” PETKIT says to turn auto-clean off at first.
  3. Keep the old box available. Whisker suggests keeping the old box nearby for a while and using familiar litter. It says most cats use the Litter-Robot within several days to a week.

For a young large breed, note PetSafe’s advice that kittens under six months should use its boxes unplugged, with manual scooping, until they reliably trigger the sensors.

Floor space and size of the unit

Automatic boxes for big cats are big machines. Whisker lists a 22 by 27 inch footprint and a height of 29.5 inches for the Litter-Robot 4, which weighs 24 pounds empty. PETKIT lists 24.4 by 21.2 by 21.7 inches overall for the PUROBOT MAX 3, and CATLINK 28 inches tall for the Scooper Pro Ultra. Measure the spot, including clearance above for globe or lid models, and remember the veterinary advice to keep boxes in quiet places away from food and water.

Young large breeds and automatic boxes

A Maine Coon or Ragdoll kitten may fall below a box’s minimum weight for months, and the registry says Maine Coons can take up to three years to reach full size. Makers handle the gap differently, by their own accounts:

  • Whisker says the Litter-Robot 4’s scale does not recognize kittens under 3 pounds; they can use it with automatic cycling off and manual cycles.
  • PetSafe says kittens under six months should use its boxes unplugged, scooped by hand, until they reliably trigger the sensors.
  • PETKIT lists the PUROBOT MAX 3 for cats six months and older.

Buying for a kitten

Buy for the adult cat, but expect to run the box in manual mode at first, and keep an ordinary box available while the kitten grows.

When an ordinary box is the better choice

International Cat Care says self-cleaning trays “often make random movements or noises that can startle cats” and that many are small. A nervous cat, an older cat with stiff joints, or a cat at the top of a model’s weight range may do better with a large open box; see litter boxes for large cats.

Does an automatic box replace the second box?

No. The one-per-cat-plus-one rule from veterinary guidance still applies, and a single automatic box can go out of service for cleaning or repairs. A large open box makes a good second box. If the automatic box needs to sit inside furniture, check the cabinet’s opening against the maker’s entry size; see litter box furniture for big cats.

For everything else a big cat outgrows, see the supplies hub.

Frequently asked questions

Which self-cleaning litter box is best for large cats?

The one whose maker states a weight range and entry size that fit your cat. By the makers' own figures, PetSafe's ScoopFree OpenSky accepts cats up to 33 pounds, the Litter-Robot 5 up to 30 pounds and the Litter-Robot 4 and ScoopFree SmartSpin up to 25 pounds. Check the current spec page before buying.

Can a Maine Coon use a Litter-Robot?

Whisker's Litter-Robot 4 product page lists cats of 3 to 25 pounds and mentions large breeds such as Maine Coons, with a 15.75 by 15.75 inch entry. We use that stated range; if your cat is near 25 pounds, check with Whisker before buying.

What happens if my cat is over the stated weight limit?

We found no maker statement describing what happens above the limit. Treat the stated range as the maker's fit guidance and choose a model whose range includes your cat with room to spare.

How do I get my cat to use an automatic litter box?

Makers suggest going slowly. Whisker suggests leaving the Litter-Robot switched off until the cat has used it, and PETKIT suggests placing it next to the old box with automatic cleaning off at first. Keep the old box available during the switch.

Filed under SuppliesStart with Supplies for Large Cats: What to Size Up and What to Skip

Keep reading

Affiliate disclosure

Large Breed Cats is reader-supported. Some links on this page are affiliate links: when you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase through our links. Commissions never decide what we recommend or how we rank it. Listings and prices come from our partners and change often, so check the price, condition and seller on the retailer's page before you buy. Read how we make money.